Skip to main content

10th March - a sense of relief?

Considering the loss of all my dreams, I am surprised that I am not feeling a great deal sadder than I actually am. That’s not say that I’m happy. I am in fact really quite sad. Just not as miserable as I might have expected. 

Partly I think it’s because I have been busy at work this week and have been able to distract myself from thinking about things, except when writing this blog of course. 

When I do try to figure what kind of life I might have if I’m not going to have the life I have been dreaming of, then pretty much all I can come up with so far is to do more work and lose myself in that. I guess that would be fine but it doesn’t really sound fulfilling. 

I think the other part of why I am not quite as unhappy as I might be, is that I do feel some sense of relief. I had built up in my head this idea of coming out being this big scary thing, and had all these fears of what I would lose and how bad everything would be for me if I did. Perhaps it isn’t surprising then that giving up on my dreams, because it also gets me out of having to face any that, feels like a relief as much as a loss. 

There is a little voice in my head that is telling me that I feel this way because I have saved myself from making a terrible mistake as I’m not even really trans anyway. But that voice is wrong so let’s ignore that. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

5 May 25 - living a lie

I’m wearing a soft crop top and Brazilian knickers under my male clothes today and it’s the first time   I’ve done so since my wife found out about my underwear.   I did wear some knickers last weekend for a day, which was nice but this is the first time I have had the crop top too.  Considering that I was wearing the underwear full time and the crop tops every weekday evening and all weekends for the previous month, this has been a big gap.  I have really been craving the feeling of a bra or crop top. That stretchy tightness of the band around my chest and the straps over my shoulders. It is such a relief to have one on now.  Because I’m a bit scared about getting caught out again I have only worn the soft crop top as that is least visible under my clothes. The more structured crop top has bra straps which are a bit more noticeable so although I really want to wear that, it felt a bit too risky.  This is so rubbish that I have to hide who I really am ...

23 Sep 2025 - a handbag?

I have not been out presenting female in public for about six months which is a long time.   The last time was my trip to London when I went out to the bar and dinner, which felt great, and to breakfast in the hotel which was less successful. At that time, I felt confident and like I could do this.   Following my wife catching me out with some of my underwear, I cut my hair, put away my clothes and didn’t do anything for a while. It seems my confidence got lost in that too, because when I started thinking about going out dressed again, I felt really nervous about it.  Probably doesn’t help that the anti-trans lobby had successes during this time and it feels a less safe thing to be doing now than it did six months ago.  Whatever the reason, I was pretty scared this time.  The biggest mental hurdle is around changing from male to female clothing, as I have to leave the office and arrive at the mall in male clothing, then be back in male clothing to go home so...

4 Mar 25 - first time out at a queer bar

I can’t believe I’m doing this but I have left the hotel in a dress and full makeup and walked half an hour through central London to Soho and my first ever queer bar, She Soho, a lesbian bar and man-free zone. Unfortunately no mobile reception to share with friends. Have logged on to the wifi but that doesn’t work. Ok, so how do I feel? Lonely!  There are two groups of friends and a couple.  The chat is pretty loud and I’m sitting by myself which is a bit tragic.  But, the point is, I am out in public as openly dressed and made up as I have ever been. That on its own is awesome!  I have never done this before! To be fair to myself, if I was in a normal bar and dressed as a man, I wouldn’t be talking to anyone either, so maybe that is not something I should be stressing about. Why would I imagine that being in a dress is suddenly going to make me capable of socialising and speaking with strangers?   The music is pretty cool. The beer isn’t that good, and really ...